ED-RED was established in the fall of 1971 by seven north suburban high school districts, and has expanded to include 13 high school districts, 64 elementary school districts, 2 unit districts, 2 Special Education Cooperatives and 3 Intermediate Service Centers in Cook and Lake Counties. Legislatively, ED-RED’s area includes all or part of 19 of the present 59 Senate districts and 30 of the 118 House districts.

ED-RED has an Executive Board of twelve district administrators and board members.